sign-up for email news

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life (Paperback)

$16.00
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Description


Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?


THE SURVIVORS CLUB


Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?


The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.


With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.


There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.

About the Author


Award-winning journalist Ben Sherwood is a former broadcast producer for NBC Nightly News and executive producer of Good Morning, America. In addition, he is a bestselling author whose novel The Man Who Ate the 747 was published in 13 languages. He lives with his wife and son in Los Angeles.

Praise For…


The book is absolutely fantastic. If you haven't read The Survivors Club, you have to.
-The Glenn Beck Show, Fox News

A must-read.
-The New York Times

Editor's Choice: These are days when a survival guide really comes in handy. This entertaining book is a mix of helpful hints...and tales of bearing witness to survival.
-Chicago Tribune

A-minus.The true-life stories are satisfying...but it's the science that fascinates.
-Entertainment Weekly

A useful, insightful exploration of the nature of survival, the resilience of the human mind and body, and the ways in which we can all use our natural gifts to maximize our chances of coming through catastrophic situations.
-Booklist

[The] stories are gripping, to put it mildly... Sherwood gains our trust with his Boy Scout common sense: Be prepared, play to your strengths, stay unruffled, keep the faith.
-Kirkus Reviews

Enlightening...first-rate reporting.
-Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780446698856
ISBN-10: 0446698857
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: February 2010
Pages: 383
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

Site and Event Search