sign-up for email news

The Goose Girl (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Goose Girl Cover Image
$9.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Staff Reviews


This magical retelling of the classic Grimms's Fairy Tale follows Princess Anidori as she is sent off to marry the prince of a neighboring kingdom. During this journey, however, a mutiny occurs led by her lady-in-waiting who steals her identity, forcing Ani to become a lowly goose girl. Born with the ability to speak to animals, Ani must learn to use her special powers to realize her true destiny. Filled with characters who will steal your heart, this book leaves you dreaming long after you've read it. Fans of Ella Enchanted and InkHeart will find this an instant favorite!

Alli D.

Description


Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, spends the first years of her life listening to her aunt's stories and learning the language of the birds, especially the swans. As she grows up Ani develops the skills of animal speech, but is never comfortable speaking with people, so when her silver-tongued lady in waiting leads a mutiny during Ani's journey to be married in a foreign land, Ani is helpless and cannot persuade anyone to help her. She becomes a goose girl and must use her own special, nearly magical powers to find her way to her true destiny.

From the Grimm's fairy tale of the princess who became a goose girl before she could become queen, Shannon Hale has woven an incredible and original tale of a girl who must find her own unusual talents before she can lead the people she has made her own.

About the Author


Shannon's mother says she was a storyteller from birth, jabbering endlessly in her carriage as the two strolled through the neighborhood; once she could form complete sentences, she made up stories, bribing her younger siblings to perform them in mini plays. When she was ten, she began writing books, mostly fantasy stories where she was the heroine, and she continued writing secretly for years while pursuing acting in stage and improv comedy. After detours studying in Mexico, the U. K., and Paraguay, Shannon earned a bachelor's degree in English from the University of Utah and a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Montana. In the interim, she submitted short stories and novels to magazines and publishers, saving all her rejection letters which she has since laminated into one continuous 60-foot roll which she proudly unfurls to audiences as a testament to her dedication and determination.Since the publication of her first book, The Goose Girl, in 2003, Shannon has become a beloved author to young readers as well as booksellers and educators. Her third novel, Princess Academy, earned her a Newbery Honor and is a The New York Times, Book Sense, and Publishers Weekly bestseller. Shannon has also written two books for adults, Austenland and The Actor and the Housewife. Shannon lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband, Dean, their children, and their pet, a small plastic pig. www.shannonhale.com

Praise For…


"Enchanting. [Hale] adds such depth and scope.…In layer upon layer of detail a beautiful coming-of-age story emerges."



"[An] affecting debut novel."

Product Details
ISBN: 9781582349909
ISBN-10: 1582349908
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: May 2005
Pages: 383
Language: English
Series: Books of Bayern
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment

Site and Event Search