sign-up for email news

Speak Easy, Speak Love (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Speak Easy, Speak Love Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Dec 15 4:30am
(TEEN FICTION)
Changing Hands Bookstore - Phoenix
On hand as of Dec 15 4:30am
(TEEN FICTION)

Staff Reviews


I will never get tired of reading Much Ado About Nothing. Here's the latest retelling! Welcome to 1920s New York during the height of prohibition. Hero and her friends run a speakeasy, Hey Nonny Nonny, that's in need of some financial help: enter the Italian mob and other unsavory folk; Beatrice the aspiring doctor, and a couple prep school boys escaping for the summer, Claude and Benedick. If you're tired of intense drama in your stories, take a break with this familiar classic comedy told in a clever new light. Let the battle of wits commence!

— From Leah's Picks (page 1)

Description


Six teenagers' lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle's estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice's cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement--one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George's debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062560926
ISBN-10: 0062560921
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: September 19th, 2017
Pages: 432
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment