When a Tiger Comes to Dinner (Hardcover)

When a Tiger Comes to Dinner Cover Image
By Jessica Olien, Jessica Olien (Illustrator)
$17.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Description


A funny interactive picture book that's great for reading aloud. Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus.

A tiger is coming to dinner! Are you ready?

Luckily, this book can help. Ask yourself, do tigers . . .

  • Like to play a rousing game of Go Fish?
  • Prefer peanut butter and jelly?
  • Enjoy wearing party hats?

Whatever you do, be sure to practice your ROAR! for when the tiger arrives!

About the Author


Jessica Olien is a writer, illustrator, and native midwesterner now living in Brooklyn. Her cartoons have been published by the New Yorker and her writing for grown-ups has been published in Slate, the Atlantic, McSweeney’s, Marie Claire, and many others. She is the author and illustrator of Shark Detective!, The Blobfish Book, Adrift, Right Now, and When a Tiger Comes to Dinner. Visit her at www.jessicaolien.com.



Jessica Olien is a writer, illustrator, and native midwesterner now living in Brooklyn. Her cartoons have been published by the New Yorker and her writing for grown-ups has been published in Slate, the Atlantic, McSweeney’s, Marie Claire, and many others. She is the author and illustrator of Shark Detective!, The Blobfish Book, Adrift, Right Now, and When a Tiger Comes to Dinner. Visit her at www.jessicaolien.com.

Praise For…


“Olien’s cartoon illustrations create a playfully realistic portrait of pre-dinner-party jitters, making the event’s eventual success all the more winning.”
— Publishers Weekly

“A prime choice for a light-hearted readaloud.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for ADRIFT: “[With a] tongue-in-cheek text…[this is] an offbeat selection for Valentine’s Day...sneak this one into a primary-grade science unit.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for ADRIFT: “The simple storyline and art complement each other as readers are gently guided to comprehend the folly of judging a book by its cover.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for THE BLOBFISH BOOK: “Delivers big laughs.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for SHARK DETECTIVE: “Delightful…the story is strangely inspirational...Many readers will demand further adventures-or imagine them for themselves.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for SHARK DETECTIVE: “Nothing slows the determination of chip-munching Shark in this lively romp through the mean streets. He’s one cool sleuth.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for SHARK DETECTIVE: “Shark is an endearing goofball worth rooting for.”
— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062568298
ISBN-10: 0062568299
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 9th, 2019
Pages: 32
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment