A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #2) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #2) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Mar 24 12:45am

Staff Reviews

Becky Chambers continues to impress in this follow-up. While the previous novel will add to the experience, it is by no means required reading to enjoy this deep space romp. Her ability to create small, personal stories in the backdrop of a massive universe of aliens and AI kept me hooked the whole way through. I consumed this book with fervor. Part of the book follows an artificial intelligence being reborn and facing persecution, while the other half puts you in the shoes of a young escaped clone, as she lives among the toxic wastes of an alien planet. Fans of Firefly, Titan A.E., or Mad Max: Fury Road will all find something both fresh and familiar from this second novel in the Wayfarers saga. This book is thought-provoking, full of heart, and always engrossing.



A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera--the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for--and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062569400
ISBN-10: 0062569406
Publisher: Voyager
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Wayfarers
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment