sign-up for email news

The Blinds (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Blinds Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Dec 17 2:30am
(SCIENCE FICTION)
Changing Hands Bookstore - Phoenix
On hand as of Dec 17 2:30am
(SCIENCE FICTION)

Staff Reviews


They say it's called the Blinds because there's no information going in or out of Caesura, a small town in the middle of the Texas desert. You've been told you are here either because you're a murderer or witnessed something bad enough to put your life in danger--you just don't know which one. And when this isolated town starts to gain a body count, well, things get interesting. The pace of The Blinds is subtle and building so there's a little patience involved, but when the pieces of this town's mysteries start to fall into place it's wholly worth the wait. Caesura initially emits an atmosphere or normalcy that's quickly proven to be untrue, and the dialogue is so sharp you don't realize it's slipped in until you hear the blood dripping on your shoes.

— From Leah's Picks (page 1)

Description


BOLO Top Read of 2017

PopSugar Best Book of 2017

From the Edgar Award-nominated author of Shovel Ready, a blistering new thriller that Dennis Lehane calls "propulsive and meaningful"

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals--people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who've been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don't know if they've perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What's clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace--but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town's residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her--and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It's simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062661340
ISBN-10: 0062661345
Publisher: Ecco Press
Publication Date: August 1st, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment