With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei (Hardcover)

With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei By Justina Chen Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Jun 12 12:06am
(KIDS MIDDLE READ)

Description


Award-winning author Justina Chen delivers a powerful and heartfelt novel about a young girl who accidentally discovers she has an identical twin sister. This uplifting novel about reunited adoptee sisters experiencing new family traditions, foods, and customs together is perfect for fans of Janae Marks, Kelly Yang, and Meg Medina. Dive into a nuanced portrayal of the transracial, transnational adoptee experience, including the joys and the sorrows within the wide spectrum of experiences as an adoptee.

On Dessie Mei Breedlove’s first day at a new school in the middle of her sixth-grade year, who does she see? A classmate who looks exactly like her. As in: Dessie and Donna Lee have the exact same glossy black hair. The exact same brown eyes. The exact same cheeky smile.

A secret DNA test reveals the shocking truth: Dessie and Donna are identical twins, adopted from the same orphanage in China, then separated into two different families: one white, the other Taiwanese American. The Breedloves and the Lees.

Making up for lost time, the girls throw themselves into their newfound sisterhood, relishing every similarity. Cats or dogs (dogs!). Sweet or savory (both!). Favorite band (A2Z, duh!). But the small differences between the girls soon create tension…and when crisis strikes, Dessie must figure out who she is, where she belongs, and what it truly means to be a sister.

About the Author


Justina Chen is the award-winning author of several young adult novels, including Lovely, Dark, and Deep and North of Beautiful. With Twice the Love, Dessie Mei is her middle grade debut. She lives in Seattle, Washington. You can visit her at justinachen.com. 

Praise For…


“Justina Chen is such a welcome voice in middle grade literature! With her engaging writing, readers will discover that America’s promise is for all of us.” — Grace Lin, Newbery Honor winning author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

"When fate delivers a shocking surprise, Dessie's life is turned-upside down. Family and friendship are tested in this wonderful heartfelt novel about what it means to belong." — Lisa Yee, Newbery Honor Winner

"Universal themes of identity and belonging radiate in this exploration of international transracial adoption." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063306523
ISBN-10: 0063306522
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English