Boy on Ice: The Life and Death of Derek Boogaard (Hardcover)

Slideshow - Book Lists

Books for the Youngest Grads

Books to Inspire Young Grads

Books to Inspire Grads

Staff Pick Badge
Boy on Ice: The Life and Death of Derek Boogaard Cover Image
$26.95
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Staff Reviews


Finding a good hockey book in the book realm is like trying to find an ice rink in Phoenix. Your search will be short and yield little results. This book, however, is that diamond in the rough. I came across Derek Boogaard's story while I was reading an anthology of Best American Sports Writing for a creative nonfiction workshop in college and was both intrigued and saddened. This book expands on John Branch's prior examination of Boogaard's life and tragic death as a result of an accidental drug overdose, brought on by chronic traumatic encephalopathy, more commonly known as CTE. Branch's investigative writing might make you think twice about cheering for the enforcers that go out and fight night in and night out at the professional level. I highly recommend this book for not only hockey fans, but for any person who can appreciate an in-depth, journalistic examination of a problem plaguing sports today.

STAFF PICKS BY HEATHER H.

Description


Winner of the 2015 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing



The much-anticipated debut from the Pulitzer Prize–winning New York Times reporter, Boy on Ice is a moving human story and behind-the-scenes account of a life lived in the glare of sporting fame.


The tragic death of hockey star Derek Boogaard at twenty-eight was front-page news across the country in 2011 and helped shatter the silence about violence and concussions in professional sports. Now, in a gripping work of narrative nonfiction, acclaimed reporter John Branch tells the shocking story of Boogaard's life and heartbreaking death.


Boy on Ice is the richly told story of a mountain of a man who made it to the absolute pinnacle of his sport. Widely regarded as the toughest man in the NHL, Boogaard was a gentle man off the ice but a merciless fighter on it. With great narrative drive, Branch recounts Boogaard's unlikely journey from lumbering kid playing pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan, so big his skates would routinely break beneath his feet; to his teenaged junior hockey days, when one brutal outburst of violence brought Boogaard to the attention of professional scouts; to his days and nights as a star enforcer with the Minnesota Wild and the storied New York Rangers, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But, as Branch reveals, behind the scenes Boogaard's injuries and concussions were mounting and his mental state was deteriorating, culminating in his early death from an overdose of alcohol and painkillers.


Based on months of investigation and hundreds of interviews with Boogaard's family, friends, teammates, and coaches, Boy on Ice is a brilliant work for fans of Michael Lewis's The Blind Side or Buzz Bissinger's Friday Night Lights. This is a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports—from peewees to professionals—and the damage that reaches far beyond the game.


* A 2014 Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year



About the Author


John Branch is a Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter for the New York Times. He is the bestselling author of Boy on Ice and The Last Cowboys and has been featured multiple times in Best American Sports Writing. He lives near San Francisco, California.

Praise For…


A fine, impeccably researched book.
— Stephen Brunt - New York Times

Devastating… Heartbreaking because it shows us, in tender detail, a life consumed by our unholy appetites… Boy on Ice is a startling indictment of the groupthink that prevails within America’s vast athletic industrial complex.

— Steve Almond - New York Times Book Review

A haunting tale.
— Ed Sherman - Chicago Tribune

Devastating…Expos[es] the violent tradition that pushed this young man to the brink.
— Kate Tuttle - Boston Globe

A thorough, compassionate, if ultimately devastating profile of Derek Boogaard.
— Kurtis Scaletta - Minneapolis Star Tribune

Meticulously reported and beautifully written.
— Bryan Cronan - Christian Science Monitor

Anything written by John Branch is a compelling must-read. Boy on Ice is transcendent and riveting and his best work yet.

— Al Michaels, Sportscaster

Punch by punch, pill by pill, the dread mounts in John Branch's brilliantly reported account of Derek Boogaard, a modern-day gladiator who gave everything for a career in hockey, not least of all his hauntingly short and quietly kind life.
— Will Blythe, best-selling author of To Hate Like This is to be Happy Forever

Fascinating and chilling. In meticulous detail, John Branch creates a blood-drenched parable for the hidden human toll of sports violence staged for our entertainment. The rise and fall of Derek Boogaard—quintessential NHL goon—is unlike any sports biography you will ever read.
— Steve Fainaru, best-selling coauthor of League of Denial


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780393239393
ISBN-10: 039323939X
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: October 1st, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English