The Elephant in the Room (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Elephant in the Room Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Jan 24 5:03am
(KIDS MIDDLE READ)
Changing Hands Bookstore - Phoenix
On hand as of Jan 25 5:18am
(KIDS MIDDLE READ)

Staff Reviews


Time has stopped for Sila ever since her mother was deported back to Turkey to fix her immigration paperwork. The longer her family is apart, the more Sila withdraws from life. When an equally lonely lottery winner strives to cheer her up, a serendipitous encounter with a circus owner presents a giant solution. Sloan shapes her imperfect, instantly-knowable characters with compassion. She shows the power of giving everyone (including yourself) a chance; and how the smallest connections can lead to magnificent, positive change. I loved the brief chapters offering a funny peek into the supporting characters' points of view, including those of Veda the elephant. Animal-lovers needn't worry—the just, joyful ending makes this one of the most hopeful books of 2021. — From Emmy's Picks (page 1)

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s comes a heartfelt story about "the importance of compassion and bravery when facing life’s challenges” (Kirkus) for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Front Desk.

It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway around the world to Turkey, hoping to secure the immigration paperwork that would allow her to return to her family in the United States.

The long separation is almost impossible for Sila to withstand. But things change when Sila accompanies her father (who is a mechanic) outside their Oregon town to fix a truck. There, behind an enormous stone wall, she meets a grandfatherly man who only months before won the state lottery. Their new alliance leads to the rescue of a circus elephant named Veda, and then to a friendship with an unusual boy named Mateo, proving that comfort and hope come in the most unlikely of places.

A moving story of family separation and the importance of the connection between animals and humans, this novel has the enormous heart and uplifting humor that readers have come to expect from the beloved author of Counting by 7s.
 
“I couldn’t stop reading—I had to find out what would happen. An unusual and lovely real-life fairy tale.” Linda Sue Park, New York Times Bestselling author of A Long Walk to Water

“A gorgeous and emotional novel. I loved every page.” —Cynthia Kadohata, Newbery Medal-winning author of Kira-Kira

About the Author


Holly Goldberg Sloan was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and spent her childhood living in Holland; Istanbul, Turkey; Washington, D.C.; Berkeley, California; and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. She is the author of the New York Times best sellers Counting by 7s and Short, among other novels.

Praise For…


“I couldn’t stop reading—I had to find out what would happen. An unusual and lovely real-life fairy tale.” Linda Sue Park, New York Times Bestselling author of A Long Walk to Water

“A gorgeous and emotional novel. I loved every page.” —Cynthia Kadohata, Newbery Medal-winning author of Kira-Kira

★ "Each character wrestles with love and loss and struggles with decisions about when to act and when to wait; each in their own way has insight into the others, and empathy for them . . . Sila wonders if people are more compassionate because of their own difficult experiences; in this unique, touching book, the answer is yes." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Using multiple narrative perspectives, [Goldberg Sloan] touches on many weighty topics (grief, autism, deportation, animal cruelty), handling each with sensitivity." —Booklist

"Sloan captures the importance of compassion and bravery when facing life’s challenges . . . themes of collectivity and community in the face of isolation and stigma are brought to the surface and themselves offer depth to this heartfelt and sincere story." —Kirkus

"Sloan (To Night Owl from Dogfish) fully builds the emotional interiors of each character, including Veda. This heartfelt tale thoughtfully conveys the agony of family separation, the beauty of nature, and the power of friendship to overcome tremendous difficulties." —Publishers Weekly

"This beautiful story and the wonderful connections between all of the characters remind readers that very often people and animals come into our lives for a reason and usually just when we need them the most. A perfect title for middle school, fans of animal stories, and a great suggestion for readers looking for books that help deal with loss, heartache, and hope." —School Library Connection
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735229945
ISBN-10: 0735229945
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: March 2nd, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English