The Light on Halsey Street (Paperback)

The Light on Halsey Street By Vanessa Miller Cover Image
$17.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Description


Two girls' lives are irrevocably intertwined the summer of 1985 in the streets of Brooklyn, New York, and neither will ever be the same in this coming-of-age story that spans decades.

In the summer of 1985, Lisa Whitaker is a church kid headed to college on a scholarship while her best friend, Dana, is floundering in the wake of her mother's latest eviction. Though Lisa tries to help, their paths diverge. Fifteen years later, Lisa has a beautiful family and is stepping into her dream job as the director for a social services organization. Everything is going right--until her future is snatched away by identity theft. Her life begins to unravel, and Lisa wants nothing more than to see the woman responsible pay for her crimes.

When she was a teenager, Dana Jones always felt alone in this world. Her mother was addicted to drugs, her boyfriend was entering a life of crime, and it seemed Dana, too, was heading down the wrong path. The only bright light was her friendship with Lisa. Now, in the new millennium, Dana finally gives herself permission to dream--to believe she is stepping into better days. But when the betrayal of their friendship comes to light, it will take a lifetime to forgive the destruction that youthful summer in Bed-Stuy set in motion.

In this latest story from beloved author Vanessa Miller, two girls from the Bed-Stuy neighborhood of Brooklyn, New York, find that their paths have been woven together by the love of community and a friendship that is tested by time, betrayal, and unforgiveness.

  • Inspirational Christian fiction
  • Stand-alone novel
  • Perfect for fans of Tara M. Stringfellow, Terry McMillan, and Kimberla Lawson Roby
  • Book length: approximately 85,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
Product Details
ISBN: 9780840709936
ISBN-10: 0840709935
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English