sign-up for email news

The Big Sheep (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Big Sheep Cover Image
$25.99
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Dec 11 2:30am
(SCIENCE FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Don't let the title fool you...this is not a rehashing of Raymond Chandler with farm animals, there really is a big sheep at the center of this brilliant combination of detective, science fiction, and humor novels. Kroese spins a detective yarn that is both entertaining and interesting, but also has those moments that leave you thinking "is going to really go there?" And he does...

Scott

Description


Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA, the Disincorporated Zone, was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city. Navigating the boundaries between DZ and LA proper is a tricky task, and there's no one better suited than eccentric private investigator Erasmus Keane. When a valuable genetically altered sheep mysteriously goes missing from Esper Corporation's labs, Keane is the one they call.

But while the erratic Keane and his more grounded partner, Blake Fowler, are on the trail of the lost sheep, they land an even bigger case. Beautiful television star Priya Mistry suspects that someone is trying to kill her - and she wants Keane to find out who. When Priya vanishes and then reappears with no memory of having hired them, Keane and Fowler realize something very strange is going on. As they unravel the threads of the mystery, it soon becomes clear that the two cases are connected - and both point to a sinister conspiracy involving the most powerful people in the city. Saving Priya and the sheep will take all of Keane's wits and Fowler's skills, but in the end, they may discover that some secrets are better left hidden.

Kroese's The Big Sheep is perfect for fans of Philip Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, Terry Pratchett's Guards Guards , and Scalzi's Old Man's War.

About the Author


ROBERT KROESE honed his sense of irony growing up in Grand Rapids, Michigan. After barely graduating from Calvin College, he stumbled into software development. In 2009, he called upon his extensive knowledge of useless information and love of explosions to write his first novel, Mercury Falls. He has written three more books in the Mercury series and a humorous epic fantasy, Disenchanted. The Big Sheep is probably something like Kroese's eleventh book, but there's no way to know for certain.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250088444
ISBN-10: 1250088445
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Publication Date: June 28th, 2016
Pages: 320
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment