Off the Air: A Mystery (Hardcover)

Off the Air: A Mystery By Christina Estes Cover Image
$28.00
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Apr 13 3:18am
(MYSTERY)

Description


Equal parts thought-provoking and entertaining, Off the Air introduces Jolene Garcia in Emmy Award–winning reporter Christina Estes's Tony Hillerman Prize–winning debut.

Jolene Garcia is a local TV reporter in Phoenix, Arizona, splitting her time between covering general assignments—anything from a monsoon storm to a newborn giraffe at the zoo—and special projects. Stories that take more time to research and produce. Stories that Jolene wants to tell.

When word gets out about a death at a radio station, Jolene and other journalists swarm the scene, intent on reporting the facts first. The body is soon identified as Larry Lemmon, a controversial talk show host, who died under suspicious circumstances. Jolene conducted his final interview, giving her and her station an advantage. But not for long.

As the story heats up, so does the competition. Jolene is determined to solve this murder. It’s an investigation that could make or break her career—if it doesn't break her first.

About the Author


CHRISTINA ESTES is an award-winning reporter who has spent more than 20 years covering crime, public policy, and business in Phoenix, Arizona. Her reporting has been heard on National Public Radio (NPR) and appeared in the Arizona Republic, Arizona Business Gazette, and Phoenix Business Journal. Christina’s career inspired Off the Air, which won the Tony Hillerman Prize for Best First Mystery Set in the Southwest.

Praise For…


A Good Morning America Buzz Pick

“A love letter to Phoenix disguised as an entertaining whodunnit.” –Axios Phoenix

“A realistic and entertaining book that will show readers the problems facing journalists in the social-media era.” –Booklist

“Best is Jolene’s relentlessness and endurance of whatever it takes to get the story… fans of [J.A. Jance’s Ali Reynolds series and Hank Phillippi Ryan’s Jane Ryland series] are a natural fit for this.” –First Clue

“Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan’s Jane Ryland series and Christina Kovac’s The Cutaway will want to grab a copy of Off the Air. . . An impeccably structured narrative.” –BOLO Books

"In Off the Air, prize-winning Estes's debut novel deftly takes us into the world of local news broadcasting with a tale that demonstrates how, behind the smiling faces of TV anchors, covering a big story is a dog-eat-dog world." –J. A. Jance

“A full-throttle fun mystery with all the dangerous undercurrents readers expect and love. . . once you start this fun and thrilling debut, you will not put it down until the end—guaranteed!" –Linda Castillo

"Standing ovation for this wonderful debut! The oh-so-talented Christina Estes reveals her storytelling skills in this timely and propulsive pageturner. Off The Air is a terrific solid mystery with authentic insights into the intriguing world of local TV journalism—but always coupled with compassion and heart. Estes's ear for dialogue and understanding of human nature makes this a must read—and the perfect beginning for a series. A winner in every way!" –Hank Phillippi Ryan

"A reporter herself, Estes rips open a vein to bring her hard-charging heroine to life, giving this fast-moving crime novel the satisfying snap of realism." –Lee Goldberg

“Jolene Garcia is persistence personified–this is a woman who will get that next big scoop, come hell or high water. If you love investigative reporter stories and are looking for one that’s clearly written by a pro, Off the Air is your new favorite read!” –Mia P. Manansala

“In her exhilarating debut Off the Air, Christina Estes uses her years of experience as a broadcast journalist to make us feel like we’re side by side with Phoenix reporter Jolene Garcia as she doggedly investigates the death of a controversial talk show host. Chock full of insider info about TV news, the story is as timely as it is fun. I couldn’t stop reading!” –Kellye Garrett

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250863850
ISBN-10: 1250863856
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: March 26th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English