It's All Absolutely Fine: Life Is Complicated So I've Drawn It Instead (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
It's All Absolutely Fine: Life Is Complicated So I've Drawn It Instead Cover Image
$16.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Ruby Elliot illustrates (quite literally) her experiences with depression, anxiety, and self-sabotage in what is equal parts self-deprecating comic and memoir. It's All Absolutely Fine is perfect for fans of Sarah Anderson and Allie Brosh, or for anyone who needs a dash of reassurance that they're not alone in wearing the same pair of pajamas maybe a few too many times, amongst other things.

Amy

Ruby Elliot illustrates (quite literally) her experiences with depression, anxiety, and self-sabotage in what is equal parts self-deprecating comic and memoir. It's All Absolutely Fine is perfect for fans of Sarah Anderson and Allie Brosh, or for anyone who needs a dash of reassurance that they're not alone in wearing the same pair of pajamas maybe a few too many times, amongst other things. — From Amy's Picks (Page 5)

Description


"It's her wry, silly sense of humor that keeps the book from getting too heavy, and Elliot displays a sharp wit that goes well with the way her honesty strips her bare." The A.V. Club

Explore the highs and lows of modern life through the sharp, dark wit of Ruby Elliot—creator of the massively popular Tumblr account, Rubyetc, which has over 210k followers and growing. Ruby’s simple drawings of not-so-simple issues capture the humor and melancholy of everyday life.  Her comics appeal to both new adults who are beginning to explore these subjects and to battle-tested veterans of the daily struggles of life with mental illness.

It’s All Absolutely Fine is an honest and unapologetic account of day-to-day life as a groaning, crying, laughing sentient potato being for whom things are often absolutely not fine. Through simple, humorous drawings and a few short narratives, the book encompasses everything from mood disorders, anxiety, and issues with body image through to existential conversations with dogs and some unusually articulate birds.

Building on Rubyetc's huge online presence, It's All Absolutely Fine includes mostly new material, both written and illustrated, and is inspirational, empowering, and entertaining. Hope and tenacity abound in this book that is as heartening as it is hilarious.

*Voted onto the 2018 GREAT GRAPHIC NOVELS FOR TEENS list by the American Library Association's YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association)

About the Author


Ruby Elliot is a twentysomething artist and illustrator; lover of dogs, and hater of kale. She lives in London and draws and writes about sad things in a funny way and vice versa. She has 210,000 devoted blog followers who hang on her every word.

Tumblr: rubyetc.tumblr.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rubyetcdrawing/
Twitter: @rubyetc
Instagram: @rubyetc_

Praise For…


"Rubyetc's new book of honest mental health drawings is a MUST-READ"  (SparkNotes)

"Ruby Elliot's first book is full of dry wit, self-deprecating observations and struggles both universal and deeply personal." (Caitlin Rosberg, Paste Magazine)

"It's her wry, silly sense of humor that keeps the book from getting too heavy, and Elliot displays a sharp wit that goes well with the way her honesty strips her bare." (The A.V. Club)
Product Details
ISBN: 9781449480424
ISBN-10: 144948042X
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Pages: 256
Language: English