A Lady’s Guide to Gossip and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

A Lady’s Guide to Gossip and Murder (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery #2) Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Oct 21 3:45am
(MYSTERY)

Description


How far will some go to safeguard a secret? In the latest novel in Dianne Freeman’s witty and delightful historical mystery series, the adventurous Countess Harleigh finds out . . .
 
Though American by birth, Frances Wynn, the now-widowed Countess of Harleigh, has adapted admirably to the quirks and traditions of the British aristocracy. On August twelfth each year, otherwise known as the Glorious Twelfth, most members of the upper class retire to their country estates for grouse-shooting season. Frances has little interest in hunting—for birds or a second husband—and is expecting to spend a quiet few months in London with her almost-engaged sister, Lily, until the throng returns.

Instead, she’s immersed in a shocking mystery when a friend, Mary Archer, is found murdered. Frances had hoped Mary might make a suitable bride for her cousin, Charles, but their courtship recently fizzled out. Unfortunately, this puts Charles in the spotlight—along with dozens of others. It seems Mary had countless notes hidden in her home, detailing the private indiscretions of society’s elite. Frances can hardly believe that the genteel and genial Mary was a blackmailer, yet why else would she horde such juicy tidbits?
 
Aided by her gallant friend and neighbor, George Hazelton, Frances begins assisting the police in this highly sensitive case, learning more about her peers than she ever wished to know. Too many suspects may be worse than none at all—but even more worrying is that the number of victims is increasing too. And unless Frances takes care, she’ll soon find herself among them . . .

About the Author


Dianne Freeman is the acclaimed author of the Countess of Harleigh Mystery series. She is an Agatha Award and Lefty Award finalist, as well as a nominee for the prestigious Mary Higgins Clark Award from Mystery Writers of America. She spent thirty years working in corporate accounting and finance and now writes full-time. Born and raised in Michigan, she and her husband now split their time between Michigan and Arizona. Visit her at www.DiFreeman.com.

Praise For…


Advance praise for A Lady’s Guide to Gossip and Murder
 
“Readers will enjoy playing amateur sleuth as they learn what really might be going on behind closed doors in 1899’s best British homes.”
—Heather Redmond, author of A Tale of Two Murders
 
Praise for
A Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder
 
“Dazzling. . . . Fans of witty, lighthearted Victorian mysteries will be enthralled.”
—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
 
“A delightful tale of shenanigans among the British aristocracy. Lady Frances feels very 
real—not too smart and spunky but no shrinking violet either.”
Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author 
 
“This lighthearted debut tale of mystery, love, and a delightful sleuth will leave you wanting more—which is presumably just what Freeman had in mind.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“A mystery that’s witty and fun, with just the right amount of danger and romance to keep you turning pages.” 
Alyssa Maxwell, author of A Devious Death
 
“This debut is engaging to the end.”
Booklist
 
“A fantastic blend of history, mystery and humor. I did not want to put it down. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Georgette Heyer.”
Darcie Wilde, National bestselling author of A Useful Woman and A Purely Private Matter
 
“Fans of Georgette Heyer will appreciate the hints of romance, while aficionados of Deanna Raybourn or D.M. Quincy will delight in the banter-filled dialog and period details.”
Library Journal, Starred Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781496716903
ISBN-10: 1496716906
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: June 25th, 2019
Pages: 288
Series: A Countess of Harleigh Mystery
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment