We Are One: The Story of Bayard Rustin (Hardcover)

We Are One: The Story of Bayard Rustin By Larry Dane Brimner Cover Image
Email or call for price.


Bayard Rustin dedicated his life to helping others—fighting injustices and discriminations—so that people could live as one. Protesting segregation long before there was a civil rights movement, he often was arrested for his beliefs and actions. As a nonviolent activist, Bayard made his mark working alongside many African American leaders, notably A. Philip Randolph and Martin Luther King, Jr. As an organizer, Bayard was largely responsible for bringing people together to walk for freedom and jobs in Washington, D.C., on that memorable summer day, August 28, 1963. With style and careful attention to history, Larry Dane Brimner captures a story of passion, courage, and triumph through Bayard's own words and archival photographs in this Jane Addams Children's Book Award winner.

About the Author

Larry Dane Brimner is the recipient of the 2018 Robert F. Sibert Award for the most distinguished informational book for children for his title Twelve Days in May: Freedom Ride 1961. He is known for his well-researched, innovative, and award-winning nonfiction for young readers, and is the author of multiple acclaimed civil rights titles, including Strike!: The Farm Workers' Fight for Their Rights; and Black & White: The Confrontation between Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene "Bull" Connor.

Praise For…

* "A captivating biography. . . . A gem for students studying the Civil Rights Movement and an excellent addition to any American history collection." —School Library Connection, starred review

"Bayard Rustin's role is too often left out of young people's history books. . . . Larry Dane Brimner brings to readers in stirring fashion Rustin's lifelong consistent commitment to Gandhi's non-violence." —Chicago Tribune

"A fascinating volume, informative and well written. . . . An excellent addition to that growing body of literature about the Civil Rights movement." —Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781590784983
ISBN-10: 1590784987
Publisher: Calkins Creek
Publication Date: October 1st, 2007
Pages: 48
Language: English