sign-up for email news

The Night Circus (Prebound)

Staff Pick Logo
The Night Circus Cover Image
$26.80
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


The Night Circus is the wondrous tale of the duel between Marco and Celia, two young illusionists chosen as children to be pawns in their teacher's battle for supremacy. The fantastical stage for the showdown is Night Circus, a traveling circus in which the pair have complete control to imagine and create the world they and the other performers live in. But no contest comes without a price and a winner can only be declared when one of them is left standing. Author Erin Morgenstern seamlessly weaves Marco and Celia's alternating points of view without losing the narrative or the readers connection to the characters. Descriptions of the different tents created by pair have a lyrical, poetic beauty that perfectly encompasses the atmospheric and almost tragically Greek feeling of the novel. A must read for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Kate Morton.

Danielle

August 2012 Indie Next List


“The Night Circus can be described in so many ways; It's a love story, a mystery, a fairy tale. However one describes it, it is definitely an exercise in imagination of the finest type. Share the amazement! You will become consumed by this story until the very last word. This is the type of book that should be debated over cups of coffee-grown-cold, long, long into the night! Highly recommended.”
— Nancy Simpson-Brice, The Book Vault, Oskaloosa, IA

September 2011 Indie Next List


“This elegant debut is a striking example of a nostalgic yet modern fairy tale. When two competing magicians lay a wager as to which can mold the more powerful protege, they opt to use a fantastical traveling wonderland -- The Night Circus -- as the venue for the competition. What is meant to be a battle of magical skills evolves into something much deeper as apprentices Celia and Marco enchant not only the circus around them, but also each other. The real conflict arises when the two realize how the competition is meant to end and they set about trying to change their predestined fate. I adored diving into Morgenstern's mesmerizing world and mourned when I reached the end.”
— Whitney Spotts, Schuler Books & Music, Lansing, MI

Description


"NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called "Le Cirque des Reves," and it is only open at night.
But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing.Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

About the Author


ERIN MORGENSTERN is a writer and multimedia artist who describes all her work as being fairy tales in one way or another. She lives in Massachusetts."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781613834381
ISBN-10: 1613834381
Publisher: Perfection Learning
Publication Date: July 3rd, 2012
Pages: 516
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment