Hold Me Like a Breath: Once Upon a Crime Family (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Hold Me Like a Breath: Once Upon a Crime Family Cover Image
$9.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


I read a lot of fairytale retellings; it’s one of my favorite genres. When I first heard this book was a Princess and the Pea reimagining, it sounded too benign for my tastes. But when the rest of the description went on to say “illegal organ trafficking” well, color me intrigued. Penelope is one of the physically weakest characters I’ve read. If she receives hugs, or handshakes, the smallest thing, because of a rare platelet disorder, she’ll bruise, and the situation can quickly become life threatening for her. So when I say Penelope’s a tough heroine to root for, I mean it in the truest, old fashioned sense, and she’s not as delicate as she seems. Penelope’s road to independence is a hard one, and full of betrayals at every turn. This is not the fairytale you remember, it is much more.

Leah

I read a lot of fairytale retellings; it’s one of my favorite genres. When I first heard this book was a Princess and the Pea reimagining, it sounded too benign for my tastes. But when the rest of the description went on to say “illegal organ trafficking” well, color me intrigued. Penelope is one of the physically weakest characters I’ve read. If she receives hugs, or handshakes, the smallest thing, because of a rare platelet disorder, she’ll bruise, and the situation can quickly become life threatening for her. So when I say Penelope’s a tough heroine to root for, I mean it in the truest, old fashioned sense, and she’s not as delicate as she seems. Penelope’s road to independence is a hard one, and full of betrayals at every turn. This is not the fairytale you remember, it is much more.

Amy

Description


In Penelope Landlow's world, almost anything can be bought or sold. She's the daughter of one of the three crime families controlling the black market for organ transplants. Because of an autoimmune disorder that causes her to bruise easily, Penny is considered too "delicate" to handle the family business, or even to step foot outside their estate.

All Penelope has ever wanted is independence--until she's suddenly thrust into the dangerous world all alone, forced to stay one step ahead of her family's enemies. As she struggles to survive the power plays of rival crime families, she learns dreams come with casualties, betrayal hurts worse than bruises, and there's nothing she won't risk for the people she loves.

Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kimberly Derting, this first book in the stunning new Once Upon a Crime Family series from acclaimed author Tiffany Schmidt will leave readers breathless.

About the Author


TIFFANY SCHMIDT is the author of Hold Me Like a Breath, Send Me a Sign, and Bright Before Sunrise. She's a former teacher who's found her happily ever after in Pennsylvania with her saintly husband, impish twin boys, and a pair of mischievous puggles. Visit Tiffany online at www.TiffanySchmidt.com and on Twitter @TiffanySchmidt.

Praise For…


"Ambitious and original, Hold Me Like a Breath captured my attention before I even turned the first page. It's a thriller in every sense of the word, and I can't wait to see what Schmidt has up her sleeve next." —Michelle Hodkin, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Mara Dyer trilogy

"The tightly coiled suspense and superb romance had me holding my breath!" —Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of DON'T LOOK BACK and the Lux series

"This book swept me off my feet! Deadly family secrets, tense situations, surprising truths, and captivating romance kept me in suspense from 'Once upon a time' to 'ever after'. Hold Me Like a Breath is a gripping modern thriller for readers who still love fairy tales and people who think they've outgrown them. This is an offer you can't refuse!" —E. C. Myers, author of THE SILENCE OF SIX and FAIR COIN

“This is a sometimes violent, sometimes teen-angsty, sometimes sigh-worthy, and pretty dang awesome modern fairy tale. . . Add this to your must-read pile!” —USA Today's HAPPILY EVER AFTER Blog

"Heartfelt and haunting. Penny is a heroine to root for, a princess who creates her own ever-after." —Jessica Spotswood, author of the Cahill Witch Chronicles

“[A] fairy-tale romance with gangster set dressing . . . . [The] swoonworthy story will appeal to romantic-suspense fans.” —Booklist

“Action, mystery, and perhaps some romance combine in this thriller reminiscent of Gabrielle Zevin's Because It Is My Blood and The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer.” —VOYA

“With its unusual premise and memorable combination of gangsters, deadly secrets, and subtle fairy-tale allusions, this novel offers an adventure with broad appeal. . . This first in a new crime-family series will also thrill romance-loving adventure readers and leave them holding their breath for more.” —BCCB

“A fairy tale retelling that involves crime syndicates and illegal organ smuggling--that is a badass way to revamp a classic story.” —Paste Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9781619638709
ISBN-10: 1619638703
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: May 17th, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment