Alison (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Alison Cover Image
$24.99
Not Yet Published

Description


This graphic novel chronicles the life of a woman painter living in bohemian 1970s London who navigates a predatory mentor, sexism, classism, and her lack of self-confidence in her abilities to become a successful and respected artist.


Alison tells the story of a young British woman who, in her twenties, seizes upon the opportunity to escape from her quiet life in Dorset to the thrumming art scene of late-1970s London. But the vehicle for her escape is a charismatic older man whose reputation as an artist and philanderer casts a shadow which will follow Alison for years as she pursues her painting career.

Combining immaculate prose and stunning artwork, Alison is a complex love and coming-of-age story, as well as a meditation on female friendship and empowerment, class and patriarchy, the creative process and the thorny world of fine art. British illustrator and author Lizzy Stewart crafts a graphic novel that evokes the atmospheric milieu of bohemian London in the late 20th century, while at the same time exploring the more universal struggles of women who must navigate male-dominated spaces.


Told through quietly powerful interpersonal moments rich with meaning and mood, this graphic novel will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney and Leanne Shapton, as well as the great empathic writers Alice Munro, Hilary Mantel, and Tessa Hadley.



About the Author


Lizzy Stewart is an illustrator and author from Plymouth who lives and works in London. She has written and illustrated three picture books for children as well as the graphic novella Walking Distance and the graphic novel It’s Not What You Thought It Would Be. Her debut picture book There’s a Tiger in the Garden won the Waterstones Children’s book prize for picture books in 2017 as well as a World Illustration Award. She teaches illustration at Goldsmith’s college.

Praise For…


Mournful, lovely... Stewart’s dynamic, warm, flowing art invites the reader in.
— The New York Times Book Review

There’s a quiet but powerful immediacy to [Stewart’s work] that will appeal to lit fic fans who may not always pick up comics.
— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683965817
ISBN-10: 1683965817
Publisher: Fantagraphics
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 192
Language: English