The Storm Beneath a Midnight Sun (Paperback)

The Storm Beneath a Midnight Sun Cover Image
List Price: $16.95
Our Price: $15.95
(Save: $1.00 6%)
On Our Shelves Now
Changing Hands Bookstore - Tempe
On hand as of Jun 29 1:03am
(SCIENCE FICTION)
Changing Hands Bookstore - Phoenix
On hand as of Jun 30 3:18am
(SCIENCE FICTION)

Description


The standalone follow up to Shadows of the Short Days is a gritty, dark fantasy novel for fans of China Mieville and Neil Gaiman, that will thrill readers as they explore Hrimland's dark, horrifying depths.

CHANGE DOES NOT ALWAYS HAPPEN FOR THE BETTER.
 
War on the mainland is draining Reykjavík. For some, the remote islands off Hrímland's coast are their only hope of survival.
 
Elka, a recovering addict, has fled there with her son Sölvi. In their village they find a new life - all thanks to the Deep, a peculiar power their neighbours praise for the booming fishing industry. Everything seems perfect, but Sölvi does not trust the people who take his mother in.
 
Kari is a professor of sorcery, recruited for a career-making venture - an excavation of an ancient power. He must go deep into the magical wasteland, find what is buried there, and turn the tide of the war forever.
 
But the world might not be ready for the storm he will unearth . . . and how far will a grieving woman go to find some peace, and what will she sacrifice?
 

About the Author


Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson is an Icelandic author who lives in Reykjavík. Shadows of the Short Days is his first novel. He writes in both Icelandic and English and is the founder and editor of Iceland’s first SFF magazine, Furðusögur (Weird Stories). Alexander is also the vocalist and lyricist for Icelandic black metal band Carpe Noctem.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS:

"Set in a magical Reykjavik, with echoes of China Mieville and the New Weird" The Washington Post

“A unique setting and a fantasy world reminiscent of China Mieville” Den of Geek

‘Teeming with magic, dense with detail and with characters that not only leap off the page, but poke you in the eye as they do. Highly recommended’ JOANNE HARRIS

‘A masterfully crafted dark tale...one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts I've read in a long time’ Grimdark Magazine

‘Shadows of the Short Days is fresh and exciting: full of dark, demonic, revolutionary shenanigans’ PETER NEWMAN

‘A heady mix of revolution, monsters and magic, this is a novel of alternative Reykjavik in which myth and religion are alive - and hungry’ ANNA STEPHENS

‘Norse mythology like you've never seen it before, set in a Reykjavik that you never knew existed - Shadows of the Short Days is a new breed of fantasy’ EDWARD COX, author of The Relic Guild

‘Shadows of the Short Days is revolutionary fantasy fresher than a dip in a glacial stream. Definitely one for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville’ GAVIN SMITH, author of The Bastard Legion

"Readers who enjoy urban fantasy writers like China Miéville should enjoy this dark saga" Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9781789095555
ISBN-10: 1789095557
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 576
Language: English