Murder at the Playhouse: An unputdownable historical cozy mystery (Paperback)

Murder at the Playhouse: An unputdownable historical cozy mystery Cover Image
$10.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Description


The scene is set for murder... and Kitty Underhay's partner has been cast as the killer.

Late Summer, 1933. After a quarrel with too-plucky-for-her-own-good amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay, dashing ex-army captain Matthew Bryant is nursing his wounds, and a tumbler of brandy, when there's a heavy knock at the door and he finds himself arrested for murder. The body of aspiring actress Pearl Bright has been found, strangled with one of Matt's own bootlaces, and the evidence seems to be stacked against him.

The local constabulary might have locked Matt up, but before they can throw away the key, Kitty hears the news and hies to his aid, determined to prove his innocence. And when her investigations lead her to the home of retired theatre impresario Stanley Davenport, and the local amateur dramatics society, Kitty uncovers a web of deceit that stretches far beyond the stage make-up. But Kitty's digging is bringing her to the attention of the killer. Without her partner in crime-fighting, can Kitty expose them and clear Matt's name? Or will it be curtains for them both?

A gripping Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Readers love the Miss Underhay mysteries:

'This murder mystery is perfect... This story has it all. An absolute page-turner with characters to care about.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Excellent cosy mystery The story was gripping... I loved the character development with the little hint of romance and cannot wait for the next book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Another adventure for Kitty Underhay ... A page-turner that will keep you guessing.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A wonderful book, I loved it.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Excellent read I really enjoyed both Kitty and Matt and found that the combination of them working together was wonderful ' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved this book Great storyline, an interesting and believable main character and a great location... I can't wait for more adventures of Kitty in the near future ' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I felt right at home the moment I started reading. Helena Dixon is one of those writers who writes so well that I immediately feel comfortable and relaxed, and the story just flows... They are complex, believable characters who seem very real... In conclusion, it was a joy.' Goodreads reviewer

'It was an excellent novel, with a strong cast of characters. I enjoyed the storyline very much and would definitely recommend this book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The characters are relatable, the storyline is exciting, and the author kept me guessing about the ending.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details
ISBN: 9781838880675
ISBN-10: 1838880674
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: June 30th, 2020
Pages: 254
Language: English