Dead Heat (Paperback)

Dead Heat By Lisa Nowak Cover Image
$13.99
Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days

Description


Alex is a machine whisperer. He can diagnose a broken-down car with a touch. But he's trapped in a dead-end life, exploited by a father who'd sooner slap him upside the head than say good morning.

For two years Cole mentored Alex, providing a glimpse of kindness and hope. All that vanished with Cole's death. It's a broken comfort when he reappears in spirit form, but Alex is willing to take what he can get-until he learns Cole's efforts to protect him may have doomed his soul.

Caught in a deadly spin, Alex can't get traction until an ailing '59 Studebaker steers Jade into his life. With a love of the paranormal and the disarming ability to see the good in Alex, she assures him Cole can reach the Other Side-if Alex escapes his father. But a previous terrifying attempt has convinced him it's impossible. Can he drum up the courage to try, or will Cole be earthbound forever?

If you like gritty, compelling stories with true-to-life characters who make you cry and cheer, you'll love Lisa Nowak's Dead Heat. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, and Chris Crutcher.

Dead Heat was a 2014 Finalist in The Kindle Book Review's Best Kindle Book Awards.

This book is not part of the Full Throttle series. It contains darker subject matter that kids under the age of 14 may find disturbing.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781937167189
ISBN-10: 1937167186
Publisher: Webfoot Publishing
Publication Date: November 19th, 2012
Pages: 212
Language: English