FREE TEEN EVENT
Teen Advisory Board (TAB): Hearts Still Beating by Brooke Archer
4:30PM SATURDAY, JUNE 15
LOCATION: PHOENIX

photo
cover




This event is free and open to the public. No registration required.

Want to read and discuss the newest teen books? Our Teen Advisory Board's book club is for you! Teens ages 13–18 meet monthly to discuss our current pick and select the following month's pick.

This month we'll be discussing Hearts Still Beating by Brooke Archer. Members receive 10% off paperback and 20% off hardback club picks.

TAB also meets in Tempe »


ABOUT THE BOOK

Gripping, romantic, and impossible to put down, this dark and immersive post-apocalyptic debut novel is about two teen girls who loved each other before the end of the world — and before one of them became infected with the virus that turned her into a monster.

Perfect for fans of Krystal Sutherland, Adam Silvera, and the darkly human side of the HBOMax horror-drama, The Last of Us.


Seventeen-year-old Mara is dead—mostly. Infected with a virus that brought the dead back to life and the world to its knees, she wakes up in a facility to learn a treatment for the disease has been found. No longer a Tick, Mara is placed in an experimental resettlement program. But her recovery is complicated by her destination: she’s sent to live with the best friend she hasn’t seen since the world ended—and since their first and only kiss.

Seventeen-year-old Rory is alive—barely. With impaired mobility from an injury and a dead sister, Rory’s nightmares are just as monstrous as the Ticks that turned her former best friend. Even after the Island—one of a handful of surviving communities—rebuilds itself, Rory is prepared for the Ticks to return at any time. She never expected them to come in the form of the only girl she’s ever loved.

As the girls struggle with their pasts and the people they’ve become, and with the Island’s fragile peace in the balance, Rory and Mara must lean on each other to survive—or risk losing the girl they love all over again.

Hearts Still Beating By Brooke Archer Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593698327
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2024