Epic Reads Meet-Up: Brittany Cavallaro (A Question of Holmes), Mindy McGinnis (Heroine), Justin A. Reynolds (Opposite of Always), and Tehlor Kay Mejia (We Set the Dark on Fire)
7PM TUESDAY, MARCH 26
Book Cover


This year's Epic Reads Meet-Up tour visits Changing Hands Phoenix with YA authors Brittany Cavallaro, Mindy McGinnis, Justin A. Reynolds, and Tehlor Kay Mejia.

Poet and author Brittany Cavallaro presents A Question of Holmes, the explosive conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Charlotte Holmes series. Mindy McGinnis shares Heroine, a captivating and powerful exploration of the opioid crisis—the deadliest drug epidemic in American history—through the eyes of a college-bound softball star. Debut author Justin A. Reynolds discusses Opposite of Always, a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Tehlor Kay Mejia presents her romantic fantasy debut We Set the Dark on Fire, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

ABOUT THE BOOKS
A Question of Holmes:
In the explosive conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Charlotte Holmes series, Holmes and Watson think they're finally in the clear after graduating from Sherringford...but danger awaits in the hallowed halls of Oxford. Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson finally have a chance to start over. With all the freedom their pre-college summer program provides and no one on their tail, the only mystery they need to solve, once and for all, is what they are to each other. But upon their arrival at Oxford, Charlotte is immediately drawn into a new case: a series of accidents befell the theater program at Oxford last year, culminating in a young woman going missing on the night of a major performance. The mystery has gone unsolved; the case is cold. And no one—least of all the girl's peculiar, close-knit group of friends—is talking. When Watson and Holmes join the theater program, the "accidents" start anew, giving them no choice but to throw themselves into the case. But as the complicated lines of friendship, love, and loyalty blur, time is running out—and tragedy waits in the wings.

Heroine:
A captivating and powerful exploration of the opioid crisis—the deadliest drug epidemic in American history—through the eyes of a college-bound softball star. Edgar Award-winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a visceral and necessary novel about addiction, family, friendship, and hope. When a car crash sidelines Mickey just before softball season, she has to find a way to hold on to her spot as the catcher for a team expected to make a historic tournament run. Behind the plate is the only place she's ever felt comfortable, and the painkillers she's been prescribed can help her get there. The pills do more than take away pain; they make her feel good. With a new circle of friends—fellow injured athletes, others with just time to kill—Mickey finds peaceful acceptance, and people with whom words come easily, even if it is just the pills loosening her tongue. But as the pressure to be Mickey Catalan heightens, her need increases, and it becomes less about pain and more about want, something that could send her spiraling out of control.

Opposite of Always:
Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green. When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he's falling—hard. Soon she's meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack. But then Kate dies. And their story should end there. Yet Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn't sure if he's losing his mind. Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate's death, he'll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he's willing to do to save the people he loves.

We Set the Dark on Fire:
At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class. Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society. And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio. Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

PARKING / LIGHT RAIL
  • Don't want to drive? Take the Light Rail! It lets off at the Central Avenue/Camelback Park-and-Ride, which has hundreds of free parking spaces across the street from Changing Hands.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS
BRITTANY CAVALLARO is a poet, fiction writer, and old-school Sherlockian. She is the author of the Charlotte Holmes novels as well as the poetry collection Girl-King and is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. She earned her BA in literature from Middlebury College and her MFA in poetry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Currently, she's a PhD candidate in English literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She lives in Michigan with her husband, cat, and collection of deerstalker caps. Find her at her website, www.brittanycavallaro.com, or on Twitter @skippingstones.

MINDY MCGINNIS is the author of Not a Drop to Drink and its companion, In a Handful of Dust, as well as This Darkness Mine, The Female of the Species, Given to the Sea, Heroine, and the Edgar Award-winning novel A Madness So Discreet. A graduate of Otterbein University with a BA in English literature and religion, Mindy lives in Ohio. You can visit her online at www.mindymcginnis.com.

JUSTIN A. REYNOLDS has been a pest control operator, night security guard, steel mill janitor, NASA intern, salesman of high-end faucet fixtures, and carpetflooring installer. He was most recently a registered nurse before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but he likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives in northeast Ohio, home to snow, Lake Erie, and the Cavaliers. Opposite of Always is his first novel. You can visit Justin at www.justinareynolds.com.

TEHLOR KAY MEJIA is an author and Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. We Set the Dark on Fire is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter @tehlorkay.
A Question of Holmes (Charlotte Holmes Novel #4) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062840226
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 5th, 2019

Heroine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062847195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 12th, 2019

Opposite of Always Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062748379
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 5th, 2019

We Set the Dark on Fire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062691316
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 26th, 2019

Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment