Page (1)
CAMERON CAMERON
Cameron is First Draft Book Bar's resident sci-fi junkie. From the dunes of Arrakis to the dunes of Tatooine, Cameron enjoys his space operas full of personal, quiet moments and tense political struggles. When not digesting books, he enjoys riding his bike, hanging out with his dog, or writing on one of his vintage typewriters.
Notes from a Public Typewriter Cover Image
By Michael Gustafson (Editor), Oliver Uberti (Editor)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781538729113
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 27th, 2018

Put yourself in this position: The basement of a bookstore, your back straight, arms up, fingers centered, and type. This collection reveals the humor, humanity, and struggle of patrons in Literati, a small bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Poetic devastation, humorous observations, violin monsters, and a little bit of history collide for a thoroughly entertaining read for booksellers and readers alike. This little book has a permanent place on my coffee table.


Staff Pick Logo
The Typewriter Revolution: A Typist's Companion for the 21st Century Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781581573114
Availability: Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Countryman Press - November 12th, 2015

From the novice typewriter enthusiast to the seasoned repairperson, this book has a little something for everyone. Stories on the origin of typewriters and its cultural impact in the 21st century will keep you hooked. I learned so much about what is, arguably, the finest tool at the writer's disposal. If you have even a passing interest in typewriters, I heartily recommend picking this book up and diving deep into this inky, mechanical world.


Staff Pick Logo
Tales from the Loop Cover Image
$49.95
ISBN: 9781624650390
Availability: Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Design Studio Press - December 1st, 2015

Tales from the Loop will take you into the suburbs of 1980s Sweden, but with a bit of a twist. Simon Stålenhag melds nostalgia with futurism in this art book of gorgeous landscapes, adventures of kids finding massive robots and hoverships, and dinosaurs from another time. All the way through, the art is accompanied by stories as large as government cover-ups and as small and personal as dealing with bullies. For the fans of Stranger Things or The X-Files, this makes a wonderful read and an essential addition to the sci-fi fan's coffee table collection.


Staff Pick Logo
Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062569028
Availability: Not Available In-Store - Usually Ships from Warehouse in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - June 27th, 2017

Jonathan Sun's exploration of living in the world as a visitor is one of the saddest, funniest, and most beautiful books I have read in the past few years, and it is completely filled with misspellings. Optimism and pessimism have parts in equal measure in this graphic novel tackling identity, love, first contact, and global warming. It will make you cheer and tear up as you follow Jomny the Alien as he meets eggs, frogs, trees, bears, and all other sorts of life that inhabit this world. A wonderful book for artists and the young at heart.


Staff Pick Logo
A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062569400
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - March 14th, 2017

Becky Chambers continues to impress in this follow-up. While the previous novel will add to the experience, it is by no means required reading to enjoy this deep space romp. Her ability to create small, personal stories in the backdrop of a massive universe of aliens and AI kept me hooked the whole way through. I consumed this book with fervor. Part of the book follows an artificial intelligence being reborn and facing persecution, while the other half puts you in the shoes of a young escaped clone, as she lives among the toxic wastes of an alien planet. Fans of Firefly, Titan A.E., or Mad Max: Fury Road will all find something both fresh and familiar from this second novel in the Wayfarers saga. This book is thought-provoking, full of heart, and always engrossing.


Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment