Emmy's Picks (page 1)

Page (1) | 2
Emmy EMMY
Emmy loves handwritten letters and typewriters and Masterpiece Classic, and cameras that use 35 mm film. Basically, she's just taking the 21st century one day at a time. Reading helps — some of her favorites include memoirs and short stories and humorous essays — but her true passion is children's literature. She'll be thrilled to show you what the wonderful middle-grade section has to offer: especially stories about ordinary kids whose inner lives happen to be extraordinary. She counts Harriet the spy, Leo the late bloomer, Caddie Woodlawn, Winnie Foster, Cassandra, Holden, Matilda, and Anne Shirley among her kindred spirits.
Pokko and the Drum Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480390
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 1st, 2019

My favorite picture books give adults just as much enjoyment as the child they're sharing them with. Bonus points if it's funny and you won't mind reading it aloud over and over. This book checks all three boxes. Pokko's parents can't hear themselves think ever since they gave her a drum. They send her out into the world to be heard. What happens next is pretty wonderful. Perfect for fans of Mac Barnett or Lemony Snicket!