Joseph JOSEPH
Joseph likes books that make him feel sad, even though he doesn't necessarily feel like a sad person. He loves when he's reading a sad book and suddenly there's a moment that makes him laugh so hard that he drops the book. Most mornings, he writes, primarily short stories and poetry. These are sometimes funny, but mostly sad. He lives in Tempe with his wife, Harmony, and two cats.
Staff Pick Badge
She Would Be King: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781555978174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 11th, 2018

She Would Be King is a brilliant and unexpected combination - an historical fiction infused with magical realism, and also, in part, a superhero story. We meet three characters, all with special powers and tragic origin stories, who come together to use their abilities to help others. Moore's ambitious vision of the founding of Liberia is devastating, but not without a current of hope. Her characters never give up on the future, on the possibility of a better tomorrow for themselves and their loved ones despite the trauma and abuse of their histories, or the violence and uncertainty of their present moment, and they implore us to do the same.


Staff Pick Badge
Paper Girls, Volume 1 Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781632156747
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - April 5th, 2016

Any comic by Brian K. Vaughn goes on my radar, but even without his name on the cover, Paper Girls has the makings of a classic. It’s a sweet coming-of-age story that crashes head-first into a temporal apocalypse, and then gets weirder from there. The first volume ends in a cliff hanger that totally changes the game. If you like Vaughn’s other work, including Saga, but especially Runaways, you should check this out. If you like Stranger Things, Doctor Who, The Sandlot, or It, you should check this out.


Staff Pick Badge
The Breakbeat Poets Vol. 2: Black Girl Magic Cover Image
By Jamila Woods (Editor), Mahogany L. Browne (Editor), Idrissa Simmonds (Editor)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781608468577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - April 17th, 2018

Featuring the work of Elizabeth Acevedo, Morgan Parker, and many, many other amazing writers, this collection is full of power and pain, frustration and elation. The tremendous amount of variation in this collection underscores one of its unifying thematic elements, the paradox of home among the plurality of a diaspora. Pick this up and read “Ode to Fetty Wap.” You will be surprised, filled with awe, and in love with this book by the end of it.


Staff Pick Badge
Black Panther Vol. 1 Cover Image
By Ta-Nehisi Coates (Text by), Brian Stelfreeze (Illustrator), Chris Sprouse (Illustrator)
$34.99
ISBN: 9781302904159
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel - August 15th, 2017

Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me is essential contemporary reading, so just the fact that he’s writing this series is enough to make it a must-read title. Add to that, Brian Stalfreeze’s exceptional line art and a dynamic color palette, and you’ve got an instant classic run. Coates’ story is thematically similar to the movie, exploring what it means to lead a powerful country, and by extension what it means to be a powerful country in a world of inequality. Welcome to T’Challa’s world, to Coates’, to ours.


Staff Pick Badge
Killing and Dying Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781770463097
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - February 6th, 2018

As a big fan of short story collections and graphic novels, I was immediately intrigued by the idea of a book of graphic short stories. I recognized Adrian Tomine’s art from his wonderful New Yorker covers, but here he demonstrates an ability to switch up his style depending on the needs of his story. Some are done in the style of newspaper serials, some in a more contemporary realism, but each one beats with an undeniable humanity, full of pain and beauty, humor and heartache. Visually and emotionally striking, Killing and Dying isn’t like anything I’ve ever read.


Staff Pick Badge
Lot: Stories Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780525533672
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 19th, 2019

Once I started this book, I found it very difficult to put down and wound up finishing it within 24 hours. It was an emotional day. The characters in Lot are reaching for epiphany, for absolution, and not all of them get there. In these stories, Washington has created, or maybe translated is a better word, a rough vision of Houston and the communities living there in the margins of society, of those grappling with poverty, homophobia and xenophobia, the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey, and impending gentrification. Recommended for fans of We the Animals, The Incendiaries, Friday Black, and Stuart Dybek.


Staff Pick Badge
Heads of the Colored People: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501168000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: 37 Ink - January 22nd, 2019

At times brutal, at other times hilarious, this collection treads the intersections of race, class, and gender in its exploration of the ways in which we punish others and ourselves for our differences. While the subject matter here isn't anything to laugh about, Thompson-Spires manages to write stories that aren't just witty, but genuinely laugh-out-loud funny. Be aware, though, these stories mean business. Those moments of levity are bracketed by moments of heartache, frustration, and loss, and that variation of tone only adds another layer of complexity to the material. Definitely recommended for fans of Friday Black, Zadie Smith, and George Saunders.


Staff Pick Badge
Convenience Store Woman Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802128256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - June 12th, 2018

Sayaka Murata's novel tells the story of a woman finding her place in the world and learning to navigate the pressures and expectations of society, but unlike most novels that tell this kind of story, this one is from the perspective of someone with little comprehension of how human emotions work. Murata uses her protagonist's unique perspective to hold a mirror up to ourselves, revealing the complicated relationship we have with our own rules and the people who do and don't follow them. She displays a tremendous amount of empathy for Keiko, a character utterly incapable of feeling any herself. You'll see yourself on both sides of Keiko's experience, which is just one of the novel's impressive feats. Definitely check it out. For fans of The Incendiaries or Heads of the Colored People.


Staff Pick Badge
The Incendiaries: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735213890
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - July 31st, 2018

R.O. Kwon lets you know where this is going from the opening of the novel, but the road there is utterly absorbing. The Incendiaries is an impressive and haunting debut novel, a story of loss, anger, regret, and the extremes to which we might go to soothe our own pain. Kwon makes certain choices in the presentation of this story that are at first curious, but eventually reveal themselves to be essential to her exploration of cult behavior, leadership, and persuasion. It's a fascinating puzzle to sort through, one that may or may not be solvable.


Staff Pick Badge
What We Were Promised Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316437189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 10th, 2018

It's an oversimplification to call this a love triangle story. It is that, but it's also much more. Lucy Tan's debut novel is an illuminating exploration of the pressures put on us by familial and cultural expectations, and the ways in which those expectations are complicated by exposure to other ways of life. Tan presents a network of juxtapositions--contrasts of class, culture, and desire--that make this story of missed connection, of love potentially lost, one you'll be thinking about, and feeling, for a while after the last page.


Staff Pick Badge
Not Here Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - April 10th, 2018

Nguyen's poems are vibrant and mischievous, astoundingly witty and deeply intimate. To read this collection is to not only see the work of a keenly intelligent and clever mind, but to see that mind working as it examines the ways, and the costs, of carving out spaces for ourselves and our identities.


Staff Pick Badge
Friday Black Cover Image
$13.49
ISBN: 9781328911247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - October 23rd, 2018

I urge you to read this book, but I'm telling you right now - you're not prepared for it. The worlds of Friday Black aren't exactly ours, but they are certainly, and disturbingly, familiar. One of the great accomplishments of these stories is their ability to contain together shocking brutality and enduring hope. At times darkly funny, at others deeply unsettling, Adjei-Brenyah has crafted a visceral collection of stories, each brimming with humanity that demands to be recognized and acknowledged. Please read.


Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment