Changing Hands Bookstore: Events for Kids and Teens
YA Writing Conference

YA Writing Conference

PHOENIX | 9AM-4PM SATURDAY, JUNE 30

Authors of young adult fiction, including several New York Times bestsellers, share strategies, tips, and tricks for writing engaging work for tween and teen readers in three workshop sessions spanning key topics.

Then join us from 2-4pm for an author panel followed by a mix and mingle booksigning (FREE).

This year's panelists include Tom Leveen (Mercy Rule), Stephanie Elliot (Sad Perfect), Amy Lukavics (Ravenous), Bill Konigsberg (Honestly Ben), Abigail Johnson (First to Know), and Amy Trueblood (Nothing But Sky). More »
Charlie and Frog Little Critter Costume Storytime Dinomania
Karen Kane shares her new middle grade mystery Charlie & Frog Join us in Tempe for storytime with the Little Critter Join us as we celebrate Dinomania with crafts and activities
Club Read Fat Girl on a Plane PLAY Art and Yoga
Club Read's June pick: Katherine Applegate's Endling: The Last Local author Kelly deVos shares her debut young adult novel Parents and kids learn yoga in this four-week workshop from 10-11am
PLAY Art and Yoga Unbreakable Little Critter Costume Storytime
A second session of the yoga workshop starting at 11am Sara Ella presents the final installment in her Unblemished trilogy Join us in Phoenix for storytime with the Little Critter
Tahir and Ahdieh TAB The Lady Janies
Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh share their latest releases Teens meet in Tempe to discuss the NYT's bestseller Illuminae "The Lady Janies" present My Plain Jane, a spin on Jane Eyre
ALSO THIS MONTH

Staff Picks »

Browse all events »
 
Changing Hands Junior
 
Birthday Gift
 
Club Read
 
Teen Advisory Board
 
BIT
 
Book Baskets
 

CHB Gift Card

Changing Hands
GIFT CARD
Purchase online
or by phone 480.730.0205
No expiration.
No taxes.
No shipping.
 

 

[Your ad here]

Please contact us at
brandon.stout
@changinghands.com

for details

 

Summer Reading Passport
coming next month
TEEN EVENT

The Lady Janies: Jodi Meadows, Cynthia Hand, and Brodi Ashton: My Plain Jane

TEMPE | 7PM THURSDAY, JUNE 28

My Plain Jane
The co-authors known as "The Lady Janies" present the stand-alone follow-up to the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane, an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she? Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue. More »
 
coming soon
FRIDAY, JUNE 1
7pm | TEMPE | FAMILY EVENT | KAREN KANE | CHARLIE & FROG | The sign language interpreter and author shares her new middle grade mystery about a boy who just wants his parents to listen and a girl who wants to be the world's greatest detective. Discover the surprising ways people listen in debut author Karen Kane's page-turning mystery filled with humor, intrigue, and heartwarming friendships. An ASL interpreter will be on-hand for this event. More »

SATURDAY, JUNE 2
10am | TEMPE | FAMILY EVENT | COSTUME STORYTIME: LITTLE CRITTER | Bring the kiddos and your camera, and join us for stories and pictures with the popular children's book character Little Critter. More »
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | DINOMANIA |
Join us as we celebrate all things DINOSAUR. Enjoy activity stations and crafts for toddler to elementary-school age kids. More »
2pm | PHOENIX / TEMPE | TWEEN EVENT| CLUB READ | ENDLING #1: THE LAST | Calling all tweens! Join us for free pizza as we discuss Katherine Applegate's Endling #1: The Last. Club Read Badge Members: Get three points for attending the meeting and one point for purchasing the month's pick from Changing Hands Bookstore. Don't have a free Club Read badge? Ask a bookseller how to get one! More »

TUESDAY, JUNE 5
7pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | KELLY DEVOS | FAT GIRL ON A PLANE | The local author shares her debut, a novel told in dual "Fat" and "Skinny" perspectives, about smart fashion, pursuing your dreams, and loving yourself. More »

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 6
10-11am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | PLAY ART AND YOGA WORKSHOP | Discover mindfulness skills that you and your child can share to create happiness, comfort, and fun. Parents and kids will learn yoga poses based on each week's theme and do a coordinating art project. Cost: $20 for each parent/child unit for four sessions, June 6, 13, 20, 27. Ideal for ages 2-5 years. Parents are invited to bring yoga mats as they will be provided for children only. $5 for each additional child. Register at 602.274.0067 or online. Drop in fee for an adult and child is $5 per session, call for more details. More »
11am-12pm | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | PLAY ART AND YOGA WORKSHOP | See above for details. More »
7pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | SARA ELLA | UNBREAKABLE | Award-winning author Ella masterfully takes readers to new worlds in the jaw-dropping finale to the Unblemished trilogy, as Eliyana fights to save everything--and everyone--she loves. More »

SATURDAY, JUNE 9
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | COSTUME STORYTIME: LITTLE CRITTER | Bring the kiddos and your camera, and join us for stories and pictures with the popular children's book character Little Critter. More »

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 13
7pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | SABAA TAHIR (A REAPER AT THE GATES ) AND RENEE AHDIEH (SMOKE IN THE SUN ) Bestselling authors Sabaa Tahir and Renee Ahdieh visit Tempe with their latest young adult novels. Tahir presents the third installment of her Ember Quartet and Ahdieh shares the sequel to the bestselling Flame in the Mist. More »

SATURDAY, JUNE 16
11:30am-12:30pm | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | DIG IT WORKSHOP | Changing Hands Phoenix is partnering with Dig It Urban Gardens for a summer series for kids ages 5 and up! One pop-up workshop per month, each with a different theme and featured book. Kids will make a seed bomb at the end of each session. Beat the heat with this family-friendly event and help develop your green thumb! Cost: FREE. More »
3pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | TEEN ADVISORY BOARD (T.A.B.): ILLUMINAE | Teens meet to discuss Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff's New York Times bestseller Illuminae. Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes. More »

SUNDAY, JUNE 17 | HAPPY FATHER'S DAY!

THURSDAY, JUNE 28
7pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | THE LADY JANIES: JODI MEADOWS, CYNTHIA HAND, AND BRODI ASHTON | MY PLAIN JANE | The co-authors known as "The Lady Janies" present the stand-alone follow-up to the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane, an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem. You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she? Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue. More »

SATURDAY, JUNE 30
9am-4pm | PHOENIX | TEEN EVENT | YA WRITING CONFERENCE | Authors of young adult fiction, including several New York Times bestsellers, share strategies, tips, and tricks for writing engaging work for tween and teen readers in three workshop sessions spanning key topics. This year's panelists include Tom Leveen (Mercy Rule), Stephanie Elliot (Sad Perfect), Amy Lukavics (Ravenous), Bill Konigsberg (Honestly Ben), Abigail Johnson (First to Know), and Amy Trueblood (Nothing But Sky). Cost: $75 with lunch included. Register at 602.274.0067 or online. More »
width="400"
The Book of Boy

Endling: The Last

by Katherine Applegate | Hardcover, $17.99 »

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra. After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true. Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Club Read meets in both stores on Saturday, June 2, 2018 at 2pm. More info »
Club Read WHAT IS CLUB READ?
Great books, prize giveaways, tasty treats, author visits and more — it's all part of our free Club Read program for kids, and you're invited! We meet once a month to discuss a book, do some fun activities, and have a great time. Sign up today (it's free!) and start earning points towards all kinds of cool prizes. More info »
width="400"
Illuminae

Illuminae

by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff | Paperback, $12.99 »

Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the worst thing she'd ever been through. That was before her planet was invaded. Now, with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating craft, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit. But the warship could be the least of their problems. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their biggest threat; and nobody in charge will say what's really going on. As Kady plunges into a web of data hacking to get to the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: Ezra. Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents--including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more--Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

T.A.B. meets in Tempe on Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 3pm. More info »
TAB TEEN ADVISORY BOARD (T.A.B.)
Every month, teens ages 12 to 18 meet at Changing Hands to discuss the month's YA pick and select the next month's pick. Many months, we also have live and Skype author visits! More info »
Changing Hands Bookstore TEMPE | 6428 South McClintock Drive, 85283 | 480.730.0205
PHOENIX | 300 West Camelback Road, 85013 | 602.274.0067
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment