Changing Hands Bookstore: Events for Kids and Teens
Club Read Tempests and Slaughter TAB: My Lady Jane
Tweens meet in Tempe and Phoenix to discuss The Book of Boy Legendary author Tamora Pierce shares her NEW Tortall novel Teens meet in Tempe to discuss My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand
Three Tween Authors Lois and Fran's Garden Adventure Nothing but Sky
Brandon Mull, Kevin Sands, and James Riley visit Tempe Kristen Hicks-Roof with Lois and Fran's Garden Adventure Amy Trueblood presents her debut Nothing But Sky
ALSO THIS MONTH

Staff Picks »

Browse all events »
 
Changing Hands Junior
 
Birthday Gift
 
Club Read
 
Teen Advisory Board
 
BIT
 
Book Baskets
 

CHB Gift Card

Changing Hands
GIFT CARD
Purchase online
or by phone 480.730.0205
No expiration.
No taxes.
No shipping.
 

 

[Your ad here]

Please contact us at
brandon.stout
@changinghands.com

for details

 

coming next month
TEEN EVENT

Tamora Pierce: Tempests and Slaughter

TEMPE | 7PM TUESDAY, MARCH 6

New York Times #1 bestselling author Tamora Pierce visits Tempe with her highly anticipated NEW Tortall novel.

"Tamora Pierce didn't just blaze a trail. Her heroines cut a swath through the fantasy world with wit, strength, and savvy. Her stories still lead the vanguard today. Pierce is the real lioness, and we're all just running to keep pace."
--LEIGH BARDUGO, #1 New York Times bestselling author.

Arram Draper is on the path to becoming one of the realm's most powerful mages. The youngest student in his class at the Imperial University of Carthak, he has a Gift with unlimited potential for greatness--and for attracting trouble. At his side are his two best friends: Varice, a clever girl with an often-overlooked talent, and Ozorne, the "leftover prince" with secret ambitions. Together, these three friends forge a bond that will one day shape kingdoms. And as Ozorne gets closer to the throne and Varice gets closer to Arram's heart, Arram realizes that one day--soon--he will have to decide where his loyalties truly lie.

In the Numair Chronicles, readers will be rewarded with the never-before-told story of how Numair Salmalin came to Tortall. Newcomers will discover an unforgettable fantasy adventure where a kingdom's future rests on the shoulders of a talented young man with a knack for making vicious enemies. More »


TWEEN EVENT

Brandon Mull: Time Jumpers
Kevin Sands: The Assassin's Curse
James Riley: Worlds Apart

TEMPE | 7PM TUESDAY, MARCH 20

Three bestselling middle-grade authors visit Tempe with their latest.

About Time Jumpers: Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole's epic adventure comes to a close in book five of the New York Times bestselling series by the author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series.

About The Assassin's Curse: In the third heart-pounding installment of the award-winning Blackthorn Key series, Christopher, Tom, and Sally face new codes, puzzles, and traps as they race to find the hidden treasure before someone else is murdered.

About World's Apart: In this final installment of the genre-bending Story Thieves series, Owen and Bethany will be forced to risk everything to defeat Nobody and save multiple realities.

More »
 
coming soon
THURSDAY, MARCH 1
9:15am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | BABY TIME | Early Literacy Specialists from Phoenix Public Library visit every Thursday to share songs, rhymes, books, and activities to promote movement in toddlers and infants. Also join us in Phoenix at 9:15am on Thursdays, March 8, 15, 22, and 29. More »
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | STORYTIME | Join us for interactive storytime for pre-schoolers and kindergarteners. More »

SATURDAY, MARCH 3
10am | TEMPE | FAMILY EVENT | COSTUME STORYTIME: CURIOUS GEORGE | Bring the kiddos and your camera, and join us for stories and pictures with the popular children's book character Curious George. More »
2pm | PHOENIX / TEMPE | TWEEN EVENT | CLUB READ | THE BOOK OF BOY |
Calling all tweens! Join us for free pizza as we discuss Catherine Gilbert Murdock's The Book of Boy, an epic quest story ideal for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon. Club Read Badge Members: Get three points for attending the meeting and one point for purchasing the month's pick from Changing Hands Bookstore. Don't have a free Club Read badge? Ask a bookseller how to get one! More »

TUESDAY, MARCH 6
7pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | TAMORA PIERCE | TEMPESTS AND SLAUGHTER | #1 New York Times bestselling author Tamora Pierce visits with her highly anticipated new Tortall novel. "Tamora Pierce didn't just blaze a trail. Her heroines cut a swath through the fantasy world with wit, strength, and savvy. Her stories still lead the vanguard today. Pierce is the real lioness, and we're all just running to keep pace." —Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author. More »

THURSDAY, MARCH 8
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | STORYTIME | Join us for interactive storytime for pre-schoolers and kindergarteners. More »

SATURDAY, MARCH 10
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | COSTUME STORYTIME: CURIOUS GEORGE | Bring the kiddos and your camera, and join us for stories and pictures with the popular children's book character Curious George. More »

THURSDAY, MARCH 15
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | STORYTIME | Join us for interactive storytime for pre-schoolers and kindergarteners. More »

SATURDAY, MARCH 17 | ST. PATRICK'S DAY
3pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | TEEN ADVISORY BOARD (T.A.B.): MY LADY JANE | Teens meet to discuss Cynthia Hand's My Lady Jane, a one-of-a-kind YA fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help. More »

TUESDAY, MARCH 20
7pm | TEMPE | TWEEN EVENT | BRANDON MULL (TIME JUMPERS), KEVIN SANDS (THE ASSASSIN'S CURSE), AND JAMES RILEY (WORLDS APART) | Three bestselling middle-grade authors visit Tempe with their latest. About Time Jumpers: Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole's epic adventure comes to a close in book five of the New York Times bestselling series by the author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series. About The Assassin's Curse: In the third heart-pounding installment of the award-winning Blackthorn Key series, Christopher, Tom, and Sally face new codes, puzzles, and traps as they race to find the hidden treasure before someone else is murdered. About World's Apart: In this final installment of the genre-bending Story Thieves series, Owen and Bethany will be forced to risk everything to defeat Nobody and save multiple realities. More »

THURSDAY, MARCH 22
10am | PHOENIX | FAMILY EVENT | BILINGUAL STORYTIME | Interactive bilingual storytime for preschoolers and kindergarteners. More »

SATURDAY, MARCH 31
10am | TEMPE | FAMILY EVENT | KRISTEN HICKS-ROOF | LOIS AND FRAN'S GARDEN ADVENTURE | Dr. Kristen Hicks-Roof presents her new children's book about two young girls giving a tour of their mom's vegetable garden in which children of all ages learn about gardening and healthy eating. While guiding the tour, the girls will discuss nutrition benefits from vegetables and explore the different types of animals that live in or near gardens. At the end, children will get the opportunity to try some nutritious vegetable focused snacks and dishes included in the healthy recipes section. This book also includes several pages of sticker-cutouts, which are available to use to reward your children as they try new vegetables! More »
4pm | TEMPE | TEEN EVENT | AMY TRUEBLOOD | NOTHING BUT SKY | Debut author Amy Trueblood discusses her new historical adventure novel with moderator Kate Watson. Grace Lafferty only feels alive when she's dangling 500 feet above ground. As a post-World War I wing walker, Grace is determined to get to the World Aviation Expo, proving her team's worth against flashier competitors and earning a coveted Hollywood contract. No one's ever questioned Grace's ambition until Henry Patton, a mechanic with plenty of scars from the battlefield, joins her barnstorming team. With each new death-defying trick, Henry pushes Grace to consider her reasons for being a daredevil. Annoyed with Henry's constant interference, and her growing attraction to him, Grace continues to test the powers of the sky. After one of her risky maneuvers saves a pilot's life, a Hollywood studio offers Grace a chance to perform at the Expo. She jumps at the opportunity to secure her future. But when a stunt goes wrong, Grace must decide whether Henry, and her life, are worth risking for one final trick. More »
width="400"
The Book of Boy

The Book of Boy

by Catherine Gilbert Murdock | Hardcover, $16.99 »

This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout.

Boy has always been relegated to the outskirts of his small village. With a large hump on his back, a mysterious past, and a tendency to talk to animals, he is often mocked by others in his town--until the arrival of a shadowy pilgrim named Secondus. Impressed with Boy's climbing and jumping abilities, Secondus engages Boy as his servant, pulling him into an action-packed and suspensful expedition across Europe to gather the seven precious relics of Saint Peter.

Boy quickly realizes this journey is not an innocent one. They are stealing the relics and accumulating dangerous enemies in the process. But Boy is determined to see this pilgrimage through until the end--for what if St. Peter can make Boy's hump go away? A surprising and unforgettable tale for readers of all ages.

Club Read meets in both stores on Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 2pm. More info »
Club Read WHAT IS CLUB READ?
Great books, prize giveaways, tasty treats, author visits and more — it's all part of our free Club Read program for kids, and you're invited! We meet once a month to discuss a book, do some fun activities, and have a great time. Sign up today (it's free!) and start earning points towards all kinds of cool prizes. More info »
width="400"
My Lady Jane

My Lady Jane

by Cynthia Hand | Paperback, $9.99 »

This comical, fantastical, romantical, New York Times bestselling, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey is "an uproarious historical fantasy that's not to be missed" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind YA fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history--because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren't for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

Like that could go wrong.

T.A.B. meets in Tempe on Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 3pm. More info »
TAB TEEN ADVISORY BOARD (T.A.B.)
Every month, teens ages 12 to 18 meet at Changing Hands to discuss the month's YA pick and select the next month's pick. Many months, we also have live and Skype author visits! More info »
Changing Hands Bookstore TEMPE | 6428 South McClintock Drive, 85283 | 480.730.0205
PHOENIX | 300 West Camelback Road, 85013 | 602.274.0067
Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment