Middle-Grade Fantasy | Remarkable Reads 2021

"Some journeys take us far from home. Some adventures lead us to our destiny." - C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Are you knocking on the back of every wardrobe you see in the hopes that Narnia will let you in? Come away on a magical adventure with our Middle Grade Fantasy Remarkable Reads and get ready to dive into these bedazzling worlds filled with excitement, adventure, and enchantment around every corner.

Back to the full list »
 
Staff Pick Badge
Tidesong Cover Image
By Wendy Xu, Wendy Xu (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062955791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - November 16th, 2021

Though she tries, Sophie can't control her magic. She's sent to train with her great-aunt; instead of encouraging her, however, Auntie offers nothing but criticism, crushing Sophie's spirits. Determined to prove her capability, Sophie attempts a powerful spell and accidentally intertwines her magic with a young water dragon named Lir. Together, they’ll have to figure out how to get him home, but Sophie’s anxieties and fears that she’ll never be a good witch threaten to overwhelm her. Tidesong is a charming story about unlikely friendship and finding your own path, even when your biggest naysayer is yourself. — Cortney, Assistant Children's Book Buyer


Staff Pick Badge
Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316540469
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 21st, 2021

"What I liked about the book is that it made real life references to the world including celebrities and other well-known things that I could relate to as a young teenager. What I also liked about the book was how the two siblings worked together to save the world and restore the moon that had broke. Along their journey, they faced lots of challenges they had to work through. They also had to battle monsters to restore peace for the world. Overall, this book was a really good, well thought-out, and well written book that is good for ages 8 and older. I would definitely recommend this book to someone who is looking for a thrilling fantasy adventure book." — Sofia, BIT Reviewer


Staff Pick Badge
Kaleidoscope Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338777246
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 21st, 2021

This book is so cool! I thought it was going to be a novel, an illustrated novel, of course, but it's much more than that. A kaleidoscope of stories that collectively tell one story of love and grief between two people. Beautifully done, as only Brian Selznick does. — Brandi, Children's Book Buyer


Staff Pick Badge
Hooky Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780358468295
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Etch/Clarion Books - September 7th, 2021

So many things to love about this book! The art style is beautiful, the characters are complex, and the story is engaging. Not to mention twin witches, a dark prophecy, magical mishaps, and dragons. So, after you read it let me know and we can discuss theories about what happens next! — Cailey, Bookseller


Lotería Cover Image
By Karla Arenas Valenti, Dana SanMar (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593176962
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

The turn of a card could change your destiny in this captivating middle grade adventure based on the Lotería card game and perfect for fans of Coco. While searching for her missing cousin, a young girl is transported to a mythical kingdom, becoming entangled in a perilous game of chance.

“A magical, philosophical tale rooted in Mexican lore.” — School Library Journal, starred review


Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316539548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2021

Lev Grossman's debut middle grade novel is filled with adventure, humor, and magic. I've read it more times than I can count, because it's just so much fun! One reason why I'm so enamored of this little novel is the environmental message that the author has gently woven into the story. In it talking animals share their experiences and show the protagonists, Kate and Tom (and readers), the impact humans have on the environment. This book will make you laugh, and it will make you think. I'm definitely stuck on this book and if you want to get stuck in a book, I highly recommend you pick up The Silver Arrow for the adventurer in your life! — Brandi, Children's Book Buyer


Staff Pick Badge
Healer of the Water Monster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062990402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

Along the same vein as classics such as the Secret Garden and Chronicles of Narnia, Nathan unexpectedly goes on a journey when trying to liven up his boring summer. Brian Young's debut novel is teeming with ideas, characters, wisdom, and the innocence portrayed here is precious and should always be preserved, no matter how old we all get. Tim, Children's Book Specialist


Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

I have not been *this* excited reading a middle-grade fantasy adventure book since Percy Jackson and The Sisters Grimm (two of my all-time favorites)! The bar is high, and B.B. Alston exceeded my expectations with a novel that has no shortage of fantasy, but also tackles discrimination in both our world and the supernatural world. Amari is an incredible character, full of sincerity, magic, and heart. You won’t want to put this book down; I certainly couldn’t! — Gemma, Bookseller